The days after a car accident are stressful and overwhelming. You’re afraid to pick up the phone because you don’t know what to say to the insurance company. And the bills keep coming in, even though you aren’t able to work.
The car accident attorneys at Niblock Law Firm are here to fight for the compensation you deserve. To help with your case, it’s important that you take certain steps after a car crash. Continue reading for a comprehensive guide on how to get the most compensation for your accident.
Seek Medical Treatment Right Away
Skipping the doctor is one of the most common mistakes people make after a car accident. Just because you weren’t taken away on a stretcher doesn’t mean you aren’t injured. Some injuries, such as whiplash, aren’t immediately apparent after a car accident.
It’s important that you get a medical evaluation as soon as possible. In order to be compensated for your injuries, you must be able to prove that those injuries were caused by the accident and not something else. The longer you wait to seek treatment, the harder this becomes.
Prove You Were Not at Fault
In Arkansas, car accident claims are considered with what is called comparative negligence. This means that both parties can be held partially responsible for the accident. And if you are found to be at least partially responsible, your settlement could be reduced. The insurance company may try to inflate your amount of responsibility in an attempt to save themselves money.
In the end, receiving money after an accident boils down to proving that the other party was at fault. This is difficult to do without the expertise of a car accident attorney. Situations where someone else’s reckless behavior caused your accident can include:
- The driver was talking on a cell phone or texting.
- The driver was driving too fast for road conditions.
- The driver was under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Our skilled attorneys will look at the case from all angles, and make sure you are not being taken advantage of by the insurance company.
Know Your Time Limit
From a legal standpoint, time is not on your side. You will need to get witness statements, dash cam videos, photos of skid marks and other evidence as soon as possible. Memories fade and evidence can disappear or be ruined if you wait too long to collect. The sooner you contact our car accident attorneys, the sooner we can get to work in helping you collect everything you need for a strong case.
Additionally, in Arkansas, the statute of limitations for car accident claims is only 3 years. That means you have 3 years from the date of your accident to file a lawsuit. The sooner you speak with a car accident attorney, the better.
We’re Here to Help
As a family-run firm serving the families of Fayetteville, we understand how devastating a car accident can be for you and your loved ones. That’s why we believe you deserve a compassionate attorney who will fight to make sure your needs are taken care of.
You have nothing to lose by hiring our car crash lawyers because we work on a contingency-fee basis. That means it costs you nothing to hire us and have us start your case. We only get paid if we successfully get compensation for you. Contact us to get your free case review, and get started on your claim today.